RSS

Bacon and blue cheese… mmm…

03 Dec
Bacon and blue cheese… mmm…

BaconWrappedDateBites-6

After two consecutive healthy posts, I think it’s high time we had some more bacon around here. So this is my absolute favorite appetizer to cook up for a dinner party: blue cheese stuffed dates wrapped in bacon. If you want to really make it amazing, you can even make a balsamic reduction to drizzle over it, but I almost never actually get around to that, and these are fantastic as they are. They don’t do as well cold, though, so you can prep them ahead of time but need to bake them just before you serve them.

All you need is some pitted dates (not chopped. that was just a mistake on my part I didn’t realize until right after I started making them), a package of bacon, and some blue cheese. Crumbled, not, it doesn’t matter. If you want to double this recipe, one 5 oz container of blue cheese still gives you enough cheese for 2 8oz packages of dates and 2 lbs of bacon.

BaconWrappedDateBites-1

First, take a pitted date and pry it open.

BaconWrappedDateBites-2

Next, stuff it with a chunk of blue cheese.

BaconWrappedDateBites-3

Then press the ends together to seal it back up.

BaconWrappedDateBites-4

Take a half a slice of bacon, and wrap it around the date. Repeat until out of bacon. I find one package of dates (yes, even though I had two there, accidentally) will have 3-4 dates extra given a standard package of bacon, cut in half.

BaconWrappedDateBites-5

Bake at 375 until the bacon is crispy, about 20 minutes.

BaconWrappedDateBites-6

Bacon Wrapped Date Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 package pitted dates (8 oz)
  • 1 container crumbled blue cheese (or higher quality like Point Reyes, about 2.5 oz)
  • 1 lb bacon (I used maple bacon)
Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or place some kind of rack on one. Pry open each date. Stuff the middle of each date with blue cheese and piece the halves back together.Cut the bacon strips in half. Wrap each date with the strips of bacon and place onto the baking sheet that is lined with parchment paper. Once all of the dates are wrapped place the baking sheet onto one of the upper racks in the oven and bake until the bacon is crispy (about 20 minutes). Be sure to check periodically. Remove the dates from the oven and transfer to a serving platter. Drizzle with a balsamic reduction if you feel especially industrious.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Appetizer/Snack

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Bacon and blue cheese… mmm…

  1. Rachael the kitchen elf

    December 3, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Having had this particular appetizer before I will say they are quite tasty, especially if texture-wise you like the feel of jalapeño poppers in your mouth. I like the flavors but often times I find myself longing for something crisp and acidic to balance out both the bacon and blue cheese. The balsamic glaze is a start, but serving them with wedges of ice cold Fuji apples would also make a lovely paring to this delicious “go-to” appetizer! Bon Apetit!

     
    • Hermione

      December 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

      Ooh, apples would have been great! Not that I needed encouragement to eat more.

       
  2. Nicole

    December 15, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    I love all of these things separately and I’m pretty sure I’d love them even more together. I have a bunch of dates in the pantry that my grandma gave me a while back and, as usual, I have plenty of bacon in the fridge. We’ll have to give this a try!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Cooking Madly

Where mad science and bacon cravings collide

Where Flours Bloom

take time to smell the flour

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

The Gourmand Mom

Good food, seasoned with a dash of life

