RSS

A great holiday drink

14 Nov

Image

Note: Updated post with improved technique here: http://cookingmadly.com/2012/12/28/apple-cider-for-new-years/

I don’t know about the rest of you, but one thing I love about winter is hot drinks. A warm mug of something steaming, crisp, cold air outside, and a fuzzy blanket or robe… yeah, that’s comfort to me. And how do you make it even better? Add booze! So, with that thought on mind, I give you my absolute favorite hot, alcoholic drink for the upcoming holidays.

Start with a two to one mix of apple juice to something darker and stronger. I like pomegranate juice, but cranberry works fine in a pinch, and I imagine cherry would be pretty good as well. Next, add your alcohol, which for me is usually dark rum and applejack apple brandy. Then, we need the dry ingredients: a mulling ball full of your mulling spice mix of choice, a little brown sugar, and butter. Mmm butter. Simmer for 20 minutes, and enjoy!

Image

Apple Cider

(Updated recipe at http://cookingmadly.com/2012/12/28/apple-cider-for-new-years/


Ingredients
4 cups apple cider
2 cups pomegranate or cranberry juice
1 cup applejack apple brandy
1 cup dark rum
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp butter
mulling spices

Directions
Combine all ingredients in a medium sized saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer over low heat for 20 minutes. Pour into mugs, and garnish with a cinnamon stick if desired.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Drink

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Cooking Madly

Where mad science and bacon cravings collide

Where Flours Bloom

take time to smell the flour

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Salt and Serenity

Tales from my kitchen

Salted Kitchen

For the love of vegetables

The Craving Chronicles

I have a sweet tooth and I'm not afraid to use it

The Gourmand Mom

Good food, seasoned with a dash of life

